Instrumental Music

of Potential Happiness

Written for the sfSoundGroup out of San Fransisco, this piece was premiered at Unruly Music’s “by + for” concert in April, 2009.  The format of this piece is based upon the relationship and interplay between the division of the sextet into two groups, piano-cello-violin and oboe-alto sax-bass clarinet.  Two styles of language are used; a theme and variation based standard notation and an improvisational framework relating directly to the standard notation.  A performer initiated cueing system is used to implement the interplay between sections as well as subtleties within them.

oboe – Kyle Bruckmann, alto saxophone – John Ingle, bass clarinet – Matt Ingalls, violin – Alexa Beattie, cello – Monica Scott, piano – Christopher Jones


Quintet No. 1

A three movement piece using modal harmonizations and progressions for flute, clarinet, viola, cello and bassoon.  Each movement explores specific thematic material and variations of that material.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s